Transportation Security Administration

The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) protects the Nation’s transportation systems to ensure freedom of movement for people and commerce.

Secure Flight

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS) Transportation Security Administration (TSA) is implementing Secure Flight to establish an accurate and consistent watch list matching process.  Under the Secure Flight program, TSA prescreens required passenger data, full name, date of birth, gender, and Redress Number (if available), against government watch lists for international and domestic flights into, out of, within, and over the United States.

In addition to facilitating secure travel for all passengers, the program helps prevent the misidentification of passengers who have names similar to individuals on government watch lists by providing an intergrated redress procedure (see below).

Department of Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano said, “Secure Flight fulfills a key recommendation of the 9/11 Commission Report, enabling TSA to screen passengers directly against government watch lists using passenger name, date of birth, and gender before a boarding pass is issued.  The program is one of our many layers of security – coordinated with our partners in the airline industry and governments around the world – that we leverage to protect the traveling public against threats of terrorism.”

Travellers flying into, out of, or within the United States should be prepared to provide the required information when making their reservations.  Failure to do so may result in delays at the airport.  Effective November 1, 2010, passenger information that does not contain all the required elements will not be processed by Secure Flight.  Until complete passenger data is received for that individual, no boarding pass will be issued by the airline.

Secure Flight will be implemented for all foreign air carriers with direct flights to the United States by the end of calendar year 2010.  For more information, visit Secure Flight’s Web site at

DHS Traveler Redress Inquiry Program (DHS TRIP)

The DHS Traveler Redress Inquiry Program (DHS TRIP) is a single point of contact for individuals who have inquiries or seek resolution regarding difficulties they experienced during their travel screening at transportation hubs—like airports and train stations—or crossing U.S. borders, including:

  • watch list issues;
  • screening problems at ports of entry;
  • situations where travelers believe they have been unfairly or incorrectly delayed, denied boarding or identified for additional screening at our nation’s transportation hubs;

For more information on the redress process, visit

Travellers wishing to inform themselves about TSA programs and methods may find these links useful: